Peaches & Creme: CottonCloud’s High Prices

 I posted previously about how Pisgah Yarn Company was sold to the Canadian firm SpinRite. Now I am posting briefly about something strange I discovered. I have been researching many of the sites that still have some Peaches and Creme yarn still in stock. When I ran across CottonClouds.com, i almost had a heart attack over their prices. For example,  at their website, a cone of ombre worsted weight Peaches & Creme is..wait for it…

$19.99.

No, seriously. Here’s a link to prove it.  And here’s a link to the plain worsted weight yarn, priced at a staggering $17.95 per cone. These prices are double or more than double the normal prices.

At first I wondered if they were a non-US company and so their high prices reflected extra shipping costs. Nope. Their phone number is American. CottonClouds.com has either always had pricing that is more than double what is normally charged, or they are hoping that desperate crafters will pay their inflated prices. I checked a few of their other yarns to see if they always charged abnormally high prices and guess what? It seems like the only yarn that is priced so high is Peaches and Creme.

 Am I saying that a private company shouldn’t be able to charge what they please? Nope. I just think it is ridiculous and a little outrageous to decide to jack up the prices of a discontinued product so high because there is still a loyal customer-base. I probably wouldn’t have even cared if this money-grab hadn’t been so blatant and so greedy.

I have a bad taste in my mouth. I still hope that maybe they always had their prices this high..but I doubt it.

May 22, 2011. Tags: , , . Snark Editorial.

3 Comments

  1. Amy replied:

    This is just another disgusting example of price gouging for the sake of the almighty dollar. This company should be ashamed that they would take advantage in this way. I, personally, think that no one should give CottonClouds their business. They deserve to be blackballed for being so greedy. Do they care about their customers. NO, I don’t think so!

  2. genuinelye replied:

    Amy, I don’t think this fits the technical definition of price-gouging because that applies to essential products (bread, milk, gas). But yes, I agree that I think it is nasty to use this as an opportunity to charge crazy prices.

  3. Amy replied:

    Yes, it is nasty. BTW, I was using the term “price gouging” as an instance where the pricing of any item is above the market price. Price gouging is a pejorative term for a seller pricing much higher than what is considered reasonable or fair.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

