Tolkien Thursdays: Knitting & Reading Through the Tolkien Trilogy

 Tolkien and knitting fit together for me.

  The writer may have concerned himself with more epic stories than the travails of a knitter, but his deep and abiding interest in details; his emphasis on small and humble things convince me that, in another time and place, Tolkien would have enjoyed knitting. Maybe a tweedy cardigan with elbow patches. Wool, naturally.

  My copy of the trilogy is the fat paperback with a cheesy photo of Gandalf on the front. (I am Ian Mckellan, hear me rumble in my deep English voice!) It’s about as Now a Major Motion Picture!as you can get.  I have never read through the entire three books, although I have read the Hobbit and the Silmarillion.

 Tolkien Thursday is going to be an ongoing feature on this blog, as I read and knit my way through the many, many chapters and pages.  I will also be choosing a project that will accompany this monumental task, and that will also be included in my observations on the story.

 I am still torn on what exactly that will be—so many choices! Something practical and woolly for hobbits? Something airy and lacy for the elves? And the colors—a natural green or subtle grey? Perhaps a brave red. I am probably going to visit my yarn store today, and if I see something that immediately inspires me, I will grab it. Or maybe I will knit from my (admittedly very small) stash.

 Choices, choices, choices! But then, this is going to be the start of a long journey…

April 2, 2008. Tags: . Tolkien Thursdays.

7 Comments

  1. Aimee replied:

    Great idea! I’m interested in seeing what you come up with…

  2. jinniver replied:

    Sounds extremely intriguing. I know I couldn’t do it, but only because I’m not a Tolkien fan. I wasn’t able to get through the first 15 pages of nothing but description of the Shire. 🙂 My husband loved everything LOTR, so when we saw the movies (which we both greatly enjoyed more than once) he didn’t get lost in all the names that sounded alike the way I did. Still, looking forward to seeing what you come up with.

  3. ajrox92 replied:

    Can’t wait to see what you choose to do! I don’t really like LOTR, but I’m interested in seeing your perspective on it.

  4. rainin9 replied:

    This sounds interesting, I can’t wait to see what you come up with. 🙂

  5. SweetP replied:

    Go you! Will be reading with interest. Haven’t read LOTR but have seen the movies multiple times (of course I live in Middle Earth aka NZ where it was filmed) and I have read The Hobbit. Cant wait to see what you come up with too.

  6. Marsha replied:

    Sounds like a fun project! (And when you’re done with the books and find yourself jonesing for more of Middle Earth, you could always try LotRO–though wielding a mouse and knitting at the same time could be tricky…)

    How about the Cardigan for Arwen from Interweave Winter 2006?

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

