Kerrie Says It From Hipknits Blog: Confirms What I’ve Thought

 I normally don’t blog so rapidly, but just staying on top of the Magknits  situation has already taken me two blog posts, first here

Magknits: Tempers, Tongue & Sweaters

and here

Magknits Follow-Up: What Happened & My Sweater

However, Kerrie herself has spoken, and posted this on her blog, here’s a link, and an excerpt of what she had to say.

  • This was NOT a spur of the moment decision, I have been talking about closing down MagKnits for over a year now – yesterday was just the right day. All the designers payments are still going through and there are no advertisers to be paid so we’ll be all square in a couple of days. Lots of the designers are republishing on Ravelry and various other places which is brilliant. If I could have given them all notice I would have done but it wasn’t possible at the time.While this was not a spur of the moment decision and was one that had been coming for a long while the timing was 100% caused by the nastiness on a particular forum that I’d appreciate if nobody named in the comments. For those that don’t know don’t need to know.

 So, Casey’s and Phoenix’s ideas were confirmed—as well as my own—that Magknits was probably coming to a graceful end anyway. My personal belief, although I don’t speak for anyone but myself, is that this was indeed the catalyst that finally pushed Kerrie to make a hard decision.

 I don’t judge her for wanting to lighten her workload. It obviously wasn’t working the way that she wanted it to, and she needs her life back. I can’t imagine how difficult it must be to pour your whole self into something, and get crap back from people. I just wish that she could have chosen a better way to end it. I really do.

April 9, 2008. Tags: , , . ravelry, Snark Editorial.

3 Comments

  1. Lolly replied:

    i totally agree. i made several magknits patterns – sesame cardigan was probably my fave – and i am sad to see their untimely demise… especially under these circumstances.

  2. Magknits is Dead: Tempers, Tongues & Sweaters « The Lumpy Sweater replied:

    […] 8, 2008 Further updates on the situation are here and here. I also fixed a broken link, thanks to a helpful […]

  3. gorlitsaknits replied:

    I’m so glad you’re compiling all this info here. I hate trying to find out “what really happened” on the boards because you end up wading through pages of useless and sometimes means comments while never really getting the full story. I’m sad to see magknits go, but glad they are resolving everything. This makes me all the more eager for knotions!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

