Good Things Happen In Bundles

  Sometimes, you just have rotton days. And then a bundle of nice stuff happens all at once.

 Since I didn’t have all the money that I needed for the yarn for my Nothing But A T-Shirt, I bought 3 balls and LeAnne, my darling yarn-pusher, stuck the rest in a bag and has patiently waited for me to come back for the rest. With a recent windfall (not telling!) I will be able to

  • buy the rest of the yarn sometime this week or early next week
  • have enough left over for a few skeins of something!

 I also got in touch with Kate, of YarnLove and she says that the skein of sportweight sock merino that I won (from a Ravelry party that I hosted) should reach me this week! She specially dyed it with young knitters in mind, and there are pictures here, here and here.

 ALSO, I have my fingers crossed that a trade that I am hoping to go through will happen—I offered to swap my slightly used copy of Poems of Color for two skeins of Socks that Rock. I have fallen in love with the Raven clan, and the two colors that I want are Grawk and Thraven. I have a specific purpose in mind, and these two seem to suit them the best. OK, I’ll fess up. After the inspiring example at Jesh’s blog and at the multi-talented Anushka’s blog, I am timidly considering designing something myself. Now, I have a really cool idea, but I’m not sure if I can pull it off. We’ll see.

 The nicest thing about all these nice things is that they happened when I was feeling slightly discouraged about my knitting. I see blogs that post picture after picture of perfect (and completed!) projects. I know that I’ve not even been knitting for a year but the inferiority complex still insists on cropping up.

 So, I’m in a pleasant glow, and feeling much better from my horrid cold. In fact, I will end this post with a poem by Robert Browning. A poem that I have always hated (come on, morning is NOT at seven!) but seems to sum up my feelings anyway

The year’s at the spring
And day’s at the morn;
Morning’s at seven;
The hillside’s dew-pearled;

The lark’s on the wing;
The snail’s on the thorn;
God’s in his heaven–
All’s right with the world!

May 19, 2008. Tags: . works-in-progress.

2 Comments

  1. Aunt Kathy replied:

    Ahh another poet. That was great.

  2. jinniver replied:

    Glad things are going so much better for you. Good luck with the designing–you can do it. The basic concept is pretty simple, so all it takes from there is a bit of math and a lot of creativity–and you certainly have plenty of the latter.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

