Sensible Sermons From Munchkins

 I spent a good chunk of Memorial Day working on my knitting tract.  I wrote, paused and edited. Writing is something that always takes time for me, but at least I wasn’t trying to write a poem. It’s not that I can’t write poetry, but I tend to obsess over the tiniest changes when I’m writing a poem. At least prose flows more swiftly.

 It’s not finished, but I feel good about the work that I’ve gotten done. However, at church this Sunday, it became very guilt-inducing when I took my knitting to church–my new knitting, my pink cotton t-shirt. Over and over, this question was asked.

 “So, have you finished that orange sweater?”

 This is compounded by the fact that this is usually asked by serious faced children under 10 years of age. I hid my shame behind pale pink cotton. I’ve also started the front of my t-shirt, and the idea of knitting a t-shirt seemed novel to many people.

 “I don’t think that is going to fit you,” said one blond-haired munchkin with a heavily freckled face.

 “Sure it is,” I said confidently, throwing another loop of cotton around and lifting the new stitch onto my left needle, “I’m making the right size.”

 “I really don’t think that’s going to fit you,” she insisted, a kind of pity in her voice, as if she felt bad that I was so deluded. I glanced down at my figure, wondering if I had suddenly gained weight. Nope.

 “Oh!” I said, suddenly realizing why she was so doubtful, “This is just the front; there’s an entire back that I’ve already finished.”

 She laughed, obviously relieved that I wasn’t completely crazy.

 “I thought that you were going to try to wrap that—” she pointed at my knitting, “—around your whole self.”

 I had to admit, her adamant statements did make sense if she thought that I was going to try to wrap a rectangle 18 inches wide around my torso. I laughed in some relief, and patted my stomach. Yes, still my normal stomach, nothing changed about it.

 However, I have resumed work on my orange sweater!

May 27, 2008. Snark Editorial, works-in-progress.

3 Comments

  1. jinniver replied:

    Ah, children. Capable of making you feel guilty with a single question. 🙂

  2. Kaya replied:

    x) Sense and sensibility.

    Ah, itties’ always blurt out what they are thinking. 😛 Gotta love em’.

  3. Chelsea replied:

    lol, kids can be so hilarious, can they not? I think the only way that your t-shirt front could fit around you is if you were Scarlett O’Hara! =) Have fun with your projects!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

