Seaming Makes Me Sleepy: Cardigan Update

For a couple weeks, my basic black cardigan has been completed—but not quite. I needed to seam it together and I have never seamed a sweater before. Let’s put it this way: I have taught myself to purl, knit socks, cable, fair isle (a little) and a lot of other things. I’m not afraid to learn. But no matter how I looked at it, I could not understand seaming.

 In yesterday’s post I showed off my latest yarn purchase, some Dulce sock yarn. This Sunday, I bought that—and I sat down on the couch with Pat and learned how to seam. Business was slow that afternoon so I had a long stretch of afternoon in which Pat showed me the different seams on the in-store sweaters and I could practice making ugly seams. After many, many, many false starts, I finally found something that looked pretty good, one that she showed me how to use.

 Fortunately, this tedious but not very engaging work meant that we could chat about random things and I found out something gratifying: we’re both Alexander Hamilton fans. (Me and another friend have an on-going rivalry: I’m for Hamilton and she’s for Jefferson. A cursory look at history reveals that neither Alex or Jeff got along very well!)

 After a few hours, I was sweating, my back complained and my eyes started to flunk out on me. But I persevered. I want this damn’d sweater finished! (I figure damn’d must be a Shakespearean term, so it doesn’t count as swearing. Like, when you say, John the Bastard, in Much Ado About Nothing. Or, damn’d spirits all, in Midsummer’s Night Dream.)

 And because I’ve always heard from people that the inside should look just as good as the outside, here’s the sweater, inside-out.

 I’ve finished seaming the underside of the sleeve and the side, so I’m moving on to the right sleeve. After that, it will just be the ribbing and any other loose ends to weave in! I started this cardigan in January. If I can finish it in August, then it will be 8 months, start to finish.

 Damn’d seams!

July 24, 2008. Tags: . works-in-progress.

6 Comments

  1. pdxknitterati replied:

    Out, damn’d spot!

    Seaming is my bugaboo, too. It’s not that I can’t do it; it’s just not as interesting as knitting. Poor Josephine has been languishing for weeks, waiting for her seams, and I’m knitting away merrily on the February Lady, which I can’t wear until fall. Josephine is a summer top, but have I done anything about the seaming? NOOOOOOOOO.

    Maybe tomorrow morning, when the light is good.

    Your seam looks great. Is it back stitch? That’s my fallback method. Josephine requires mattress stitch, and good eyesight.

  2. Aunt Kathy replied:

    Seeming I can do… making a sweater with sleeves, not so much.

  3. Kathy W replied:

    I’m one of those sickos who love to seam, kitchener and all those other finishing things.

    Yeah…I know…but medication doesn’t seem to help.

  4. Jen replied:

    Wow–looks great. I can only hope when I get around to seaming my NBaT together, it looks half that good.

    By the way…thank you, thank you, THANK YOU, for introducing Chuck Norris in the “Not Nice Ravatars” thread. I’m REALLY getting tired of the “Oh, that offends me/hurts my feelings/isn’t nice! It should be banned!” brigade. For pete’s sake, people–grow up!

  5. turtlegirl76 replied:

    I highly recommend the Knitters Book of Finishing Techniques. It’s awesome. You’re doing well! The seams are looking good!

  6. Juli replied:

    wow. way better than the seams on my first hoodie. YAY whipstitch!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

