Inbetween the Lace Knitting…

S7305250 by you.

I have finished two baby hats, to compliment my pink hats. I don’t really buy into the pink-is-for-girls, blue-for-boys, but if I’m donating hats for other people, I think that it’s right to give them choices that they will want to use.

 The Bebe Cotsoy that I’ve used for these hats is incredibly soft and I’ve used these hats as Stupid Knitting, when I am sick of laceweight. Thank you, all of you, for your great tips and encouragment about the lace wrap. After much tearful posting on Ravelry, I have finally gotten some lace mojo back. I’m definitely not going to be done by the 24th, as far as I can see, but there has been much progress on the wrap, and I will post pictures tomorrow!

 This has given me more confidence for the next KAL that my group is doing, which will be shawls/wraps/that kind of thing for rape survivors, which will start in mid-September and run until the end of October. I may choose a heavier weight (fingering, maybe) for that shawl, but at least I know that I can manage lace, even if I’m not perfect.

 Which reminds me, if any of you have a particular pattern that works up in a heavier laceweight/fingering weight or there’s a yarn that you think would work well for a shawl or wrap that will need to be done in a month and a half, let me know, I’d appreciate it! I’m looking at some Knitpicks yarn, but I’m open to suggestions!

August 21, 2008. Tags: , . works-in-progress.

3 Comments

  1. MicheleLB replied:

    The Shetland Triangle in Interweave’s Wrap Style works up pretty quickly, and the pattern is easily memorized. I made two this spring. I used fingering weight yarn.

    Good luck!

  2. Aunt Kathy replied:

    I love “stupid” knitting projects. The hats look so soft.

    Can’t help you with the shawl/wrap as I have not yet made one.

  3. jinniver replied:

    If you check out the Beginning Lace group on Ravelry, there’s a stickied thread with a huge lists of patterns we pick from for our monthly KAL voting. You could also ask the question there–these people know their lace. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

