Sekrit Knitting

I can’t actually post pictures of my current knitting project, because it’s a surprise for the recipient. So look at these beautiful pictures of yarn in the meantime.

Malabrigo Sock Eggplant by you.

Malabrigo Sock Eggplant by you.

 That, my darlings, is a skein of Malabrigo sock yarn in the Eggplant colorway. It doesn’t have quite that exact blue undertone that you’re seeing in these pictures, but it is in fact, purple, a fact that doesn’t come through in most pictures. For some reason, this colorway tends to photograph as grayish-brown. It’s really a deep, subtle purple shot with a few strands of lighter purple and at a quick glance, can look almost black in certain lights. It is exceptionally beautiful, exceptionally squishy, and I want to cast on for a pair of socks RIGHT NOW.

 I am refraining from doing so, however, because I must finish my sekrit knitting project first. Once it’s no longer a secret, I’ll post pictures because it is very beautous. Let me just say that after knitting with fingering weight on size 0s, I’m rocketing through this project that uses sportweight and size 3 needles.

February 3, 2009. Uncategorized.

6 Comments

  1. crochetcollection replied:

    Yum, Mmmmmalabrigo! Isn’t it terrible how the most beautiful shades of purple can never be photographed?! It’s terribly irritating, since I myself am working on a project in lilac! I can’t wait to see what socks you make from it!!

  2. MJ replied:

    *droooooooool*

  3. gimpykatk replied:

    umm purple, nice.

  4. Jennifer replied:

    Ooh, pretty! I haven’t seen that stuff in the flesh yet.

  5. Dava replied:

    MALABRIGIO SOCK YARN? Great. Now I won’t be able to think of anything else for the rest of the day. You have amazing restraint, missy.

  6. Dava replied:

    Oops. Guess I committed the knitting faux pas. I meant MALABRIGO. Lost in my excitement and all.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

